Skip to content

Solid Nodules on the Left Breast

April 27, 2011

The good news is all of Nanay’s test results except the Breast Ultrasound shows No Evidence of Disease (NED). There is no progression in any of the vital organs. The Liver Function Test only showed that she have a slightly elevated platelet count (PLT)= 478 (ideal range is 140-460), but does not require any treatment or intervention. The not so good news is– the attending oncologist found several small solid nodules in Nanay’s left breast, which are undetermined if benign or malignant. Nanay declined Chest Xray and Mammogram due to the low dose radiation from these diagnostic tests. Oncologist # 3 asked us to go back to her original surgeon to talk about the nodules on the left breast and also to see oncologist #1 (the original medical oncologist) for follow-up every 3- 6 months and for long-term monitoring, as it is better to be monitored by the original medical team where Nanay had her surgery.

Nanay said she wants to go for another 42 day juice fast (Breuss protocol with coffee enema and turmeric tea) or anything to shrink the tumouor before going for another mammogram or ultrasound with elastography.

I will schedule Mammogram and Breast Ultrasound with Elastography in either of the following, to prevent unnecessary biopsies:
Pacific Healthcare Breast Surgery Centre
Breast Centre@ Changi Hospital
http://www.themedicalcity.com/serviceitem.php?sid=265&cid=267
She is quite determined not to have more surgery or chemo/radiation and will go back to her 42 day Breuss Protocol. I will still bring her for the breast elastography to ensure that it is a benign nodule and told her she must agree to be seen by the oncologist and surgeon every 3 to 6 months.

There is also a small (3 cm) fibroid in her uterus. I googled it and it seems this is not something we should worry about, as fibroids are benign tumours (also caused by estrogen dominance). I would still schedule an appointment with an OB-Gynae at Camden Medical Center who practices integrative medicine (referred to me by another breast cancer patient), for proper monitoring of the fibroid in her uterus.

Nice e-Learn about Uterine Fibroids here:
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/tutorials/uterinefibroids/htm/lesson.htm

18 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2011 2:05 pm

    I have realized that for some time when I was trying to defend my mother’s treatment decision, I have almost held back my own fears and doubts in what we are currently doing. Almost believed what the oncs and other people are saying that I am not doing enough for my mother. So, here I am making myself vulnerable for attacks and all the words such as “I told you so, see, you should have forced your mother to go for standard treatment”. Maybe we will fail, maybe we will not, but one thing I am sure of, is my unconditional love for my mother, whatever she chose for herself is something I should respect. I would not think she would choose a decision which she knows will be bad for her and her children..so I made myself vulnerable and asked for advice.. making my fear visibly raw …the beauty of it all is that I have let it go.. let go of my pride, for the sake of my mother.. I asked for advice.. and here is what I got.. I sincerely appreciate this– thank you very much — my “thinking outside of the box” friends… you do not know how much it means to me today..

  2. friend1 permalink*
    April 28, 2011 2:06 pm

    I have some ideas about shrinking that fibroid and breast nodule. Have you heard Dr. Brownstein speak? Do you know about the Funahashi method using iodine and progesterone? Let me know if your mom is up for it. PS you are my hero!

    Oral Iodine alone should reduce the fibroid and nodules. But combining Lugol’s iodine with progesterone and applying it topically to the breast (The Funahashi Method) should reduce the nodules rather quickly. Try the Yahoo Iodine Group or Yahoo breastcancerthinktank.

  3. friend2 permalink*
    April 28, 2011 2:07 pm

    fibroids are benign and should remain stable as long as she’s not taking estrogen which feeds them. They are common and most women don’t know they are there. If they grow then they can cause discomfort, then they will want to do a hysterectomy as it’s not feasable to remove fibroids in most cases.

    If she can be persuaded to have the mammo it really is not much radiation and it may help her application to stay in Singapore if she is having ongoing treatments. Is there any reason why she can’t have a biopsy without the mammo? I’m thinking they would be looking for an area in the mammo where there are calcifications to put the needle. Now I remember that you worry about biopsies spreading cancer. Sometimes the possibility of cancer is scarier than the other worries and she has to weigh up her risks. It must be frustrating having to accept her choices.

    I had an ultrasound once where they couldn’t locate either of my ovaries. It’s not unusual, just hiding behind other organs or intestines maybe.

    I hope you can both have some resolution to these problems.

  4. April 28, 2011 2:17 pm

    see the advice came from one who believes in alternative only (friend1) while the other one believes in conventional (friend2). I appreciated their reply because I knew they have invested a few minutes of their time responding to my question, instead of reflecting their own fears from this disease (they have breast cancer too, but they were able to talk to someone who is also fearing the unconquerable)..I was so confused that even if the answer to my question is right up to my nose.. I cannot see it.. but when I asked, I was able to make my thoughts more comprehensible..

    I remember the Japanese people took Lugol’s Iodine because of the Radiation Leak in Tokyo.. my mother can also take a few drops of Lugol’s Iodine during her mammogram!! Isn’t that neat??? If i have kept my fear inside — it will probably took me a while before figuring this out..

    here is my response to FRIEND2 (conventional)
    we have gone twice to the radiologist because she keeps emptying her bladder and finding an excuse not to get the mammogram..

    I have read somewhere that taking a few drops of Lugol’s Iodine can help negate the effect of radiation.. and told her about it..she is slowly accepting it as I told her — we need all the diagnostic tests to prove that she can stay with me…

    I thought it was an accomplishment that she agreed to go for all the bloodworks and ultrasound– if only to help sort out the immigration issues..

    as for the biopsy– this is something personal to me– I would take it as a last recourse… am glad to having found 2 hospitals in Singapore offering breast elastography.. so once she gets the mammo– and if we get a BIRADS4 or BIRADS5 reading on the mammo– we can go for elastography first..

    and then see other therapies that could shrink the tumuour… she is feisty and totally convinced that the 42 day juice fast can shrink her tumour — so she said, no surgery either even if found that the solid nodules on the left breast is malignant.. so in that case,, I would really not let her go for biopsy if I know that she would refuse surgery..

    soo frustrating and stressful…

    I do not want to mention that the receptionist at the Cancer Center is dismissive—very unfriendly– not sure if it is because she can sense our animosity… about conventional treatment…

    the attending onc– tries to be respectful and accomodating of my mother’s request– but I can see that situation is also quite awkward for her… I planned to show her all the studies I have printed.. but did’nt anyway… it will take a lot of explaining and I was already running late for work…

  5. April 28, 2011 2:27 pm

    my response to FRIEND2 (alternative)

    am trying to find out where I can find Lugol’s Iodine in Singapore.. the site I found seems to be talking about using Lugol’s Iodine for their FISH tank.. they call it TM Lugol’s Iodine.. is it the same stuff? I also found another cancer blog– where the mother gave her daughter a few drops of Lugol’s iodine before the MIBG scan (to negate the radiation)..

    I will also consider the progesterone+ Lugol’s Iodine solution to shrink my mother’s uterne fibroid and solid breast nodules.. I think she would consider anything natural and non-invasive.

    Glad to have a jar of progesterone cream prescribed by our endocrinologist to balance my hormones– will consider sharing it with my mother and also inform the endocrinologist of this plan..will check the yahoo group and web links you gave me after working hours… thanks so much!

  6. xyberdoc permalink
    April 28, 2011 5:44 pm

    check Vit D3 status

  7. April 29, 2011 8:13 pm

    thanks xyberdoc.. we will see you on 26th May at Infinity Centre

  8. May 2, 2011 8:14 pm

    I think I recall seeing Lugol’s iodine at Nature’s Glory (it’s an organic food and supplies shop at Tan Boon Liat Bldg, near Outram, next to the Holiday Inn hotel). It’s placed near the Gerson therapy supplies. You can call them to find out.

    As for Changi Breast Centre, if u can, see Assoc Prof Tan Su Ming. I did an elastrography with her 3 yrs ago.

  9. May 2, 2011 10:39 pm

    SY, thanks so much. I will go to Nature’s Glory tomorrow. alright< I just booked an appointment at Changi Breast Centre, but I did not specifically asked for someone. I wiwll look for Assoc PRof Tan Su Ming then.. thanks SY. hope all is well with you and you are also receiving the support you need

  10. May 3, 2011 8:22 pm

    Hi SY,
    we were able to purchase Lugol’s iodine and other Gerson supplements at Nature’s Glory. Thank you so much, apparently I can purchase the supplies online and get them delivered for free if I purchase more than $120 sgd worth of supplies.

    I signed up for free membership for 10% discount on dry goods.

    http://www.natures-glory.com/sub_Gerson.asp?CatSID=123&currentPage=1

  11. May 3, 2011 10:53 pm

    hi SY, yes we purchased carrots too and a few other vegetables. The lady there also gave me a tip, she said the veggies from Australia are delivered every Tuesday night, so if we want the freshest veggies, we must buy from Wednesday to Friday 🙂

    how are things with you? email me at nanay@live.com.sg if you are not keen to share publicly.

  12. May 7, 2011 12:33 am

    D blood level tested at Tan Tock Seng Hospital as a part of a package at the Health Enrichment Centre (Call 6357 2233 to find out more about this).

    http://www.aware.org.sg/2010/04/this-vitamin-may-help-protect-you-from-cancer/

    • May 12, 2011 2:54 pm

      The Tan Tock Seng Health Enrichment Centre does offer Vit D blood test along as part of a Health Screening Package.

      If you want to be tested only for Vitamin D levels– you have to go to their Walk-in Clinic before 3pm (you have to queue to see a doctor first, before the blood test is ordered). They are open on Saturdays— contact number 6357-8012

  13. November 28, 2012 9:08 pm

    November 2012 updates: Lugol’s Iodine can be toxic (if chemically prepared, if you are not sure of your source), buy Natural Iodine from http://naturesspices.com/ instead.

Trackbacks

  1. 3 Reasons to Celebrate « Nanay Miriam's "re-MISSION"
  2. Breast Ultrasound with Elastography at Medical City Breast Clinic « Nanay Miriam's "re-MISSION"

Leave a Reply

