Skip to content

A Good Day! Through none of my merit

August 11, 2011

Today is a good day(even if I only have $50sgd on my wallet to last us until the next pay day)! One of our business sponsors (who have a really high standard when it comes to work and life) told me:

Looks good Lanie!

When praise comes once in a while, its worth a million dollars, but if it is overdone, it loses its impact. I will just relish this today.

Here is what a Christian parent have to say about Praises.Internal motivation, rather than external, will prompt a child to make a decision for the sake of the outcome itself. A child should be taught that chores are done in order to contribute to the functioning of a healthy household, not in order to earn an allowance. Good choices should be made because they are the right thing to do, not because they will be rewarded with a new toy. Grades earn a sense of pride in one’s work, not money or praise.

And here is why I thought it is not of my own merits that I earned this praise. Since I started on this project, I have kept praying incessantly that our business sponsor will
1. approve the proposal (after weeks of editing the proposals and each time being rejected. She did approve it anyway)
2. that she will approve the MOCK-UP version of the proposal (which she did today)

All of these approvals kind of add up to the big day. One of my colleague has been receiving quite bad reviews from another team, that I can feel her stress and disappointment. She had to take the day off today, as she is running a fever. I kept praying that the proposal and subsequently the mock-up will be approved, so that I can move on to another task (and probably be able to help my team mate). I also wanted my line manager to have some respite,after getting the bullets from the other department to cover my team mate. But in selfish way, I also wanted to earn some praise to secure my job and really I just need one blessing to keep me motivated to go on– to keep my spirit sweet and continue to be the light in our household and probably even in the office.

This is the reason why, the praises I received is not earned by merit. It was by God’s grace that I received it today. He knows fully well that I need some sort of encouragement.

I was given a mind to think and a heart to feel through no merit of my own at all.

I was brought into the hearing of the gospel through no merit of my own at all.

My rebellion was subdued, my hardness removed, my blindness overcome, and my deadness awakened through no merit of my own at all.

Thus I became a believer in Christ through no merit of my own at all.

And so I am an heir of God with Christ through no merit of my own at all.

Now when I put forward effort to please the Lord who bought me, this is to me no merit at all, because

…it is not I, but the grace of God that is with me. (1 Corinthians 15:10)

…God is working in me that which is pleasing in his sight. (Hebrews 13:21)

…he fulfills every resolve for good by his power. (2 Thessalonians 1:11)

And therefore there is no ground for boasting in myself, but only in God’s mighty grace.

Let him who boasts, boast in the Lord. (1 Corinthians 1:31)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

