Skip to content

DIY Suob

March 22, 2012

Suob

Suob (Filipino version of steam bath)

I will be going for a full body massage today… then will do a DIY suob for myself and Nanay (to clear her runny nose)

excerpt from:
http://www.stuartxchange.org/Suob.html

the suob procedure is performed. On the same wok, a fire is started and brought to fiery embers. To this is placed “insenso kamangyan” (a combination of chinese incense and a local “tawas” material purchased inexpensively from the local drugstore: <graphic). Smoke is generated in the process. The mother, wrapped in a loose blanket or duster wear, straddles the wok and catches the smoke into her lower extremities and bare perineal area.

However, instead of focusing on lower exteremities, we will get ourselves fully covered by blankets.

This youtube video is just summarizes that healing benefits of a very simple therapy —any which way we use steam.. I just hope that more Filipinos will begin to appreciate the ancient natural therapies that is available within our house. There is no need to purchase expensive equipments or book yourselves to a spa, to get the healing benefits of steam.

Throw away all the junk to heal simple colds and cough..

Here is a traditional malay steam bath home set-up called “tangas”.

traditional malay steam bath (tangas) set-up

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Joann permalink
    April 12, 2012 2:26 pm

    Nanay How cai i contact you? I need your help thanks so much!

    • April 12, 2012 8:54 pm

      hi joann,

      email me nanay@live.com.sg or find me on facebook using the same email address.. if this is regards to Binat.. I suggest you try Suob and also find a TCM clinic.. there is one in Quezon City…

      regards
      Lanie

  2. Liv permalink
    November 27, 2012 4:45 pm

    hi nanay! I have been feeling all sorts of bOdy ailments for the last 8mos. My son is now 1 year and 5mos. Been to every doctor and done every test there is and all came back normal. My organs and everything seems to be in good condition but i am not feeling it. Then finally just 2 weeks ago I cannot take it anymore and ask my friends’ lola and ask them everything about binat. My own nanay is not with us anymore that’s why I did not have anyone to tell me what was happening to me. And then there was the answer,after I mentioned all what I was feeling,they are sure this was all binat. They hurriedly went in my house to perform the suob. And I never felt so good in months! It really did help me a lot. And I hope that all the new mothers out there who are suffering like the way I am will find this old tradition and try it. But be sure to do it with people who knew what they are doing. Thanks nanay! God Bless!

    • November 28, 2012 8:15 pm

      hi Liv, very true, I wish I had known (or at least remembered this at the time I was suffering from binat 6 years ago).. spread the word dear…and also try your best to preserve this tradition and teach your daughters and nieces…

      God bless!

      rgds,

      nanaysdaughter

Trackbacks

  1. Hip Bath, Sitz Bath, Suob, Tangas, Womb Sauna « Nanay Miriam's "re-MISSION"

Leave a Reply

