Skip to content

DIY Fennel (Anise) Seed Capsules

May 16, 2012

A bottle of Fennel (anise) seed capsules at GNC, containing 100 capsules of 480 mg each, costs about $12sgd. I made my own Fennel seed capsules from fresh fennel seeds, costing me about $7sgd.

Fennel seed (or anise) and empty size 00 capsules (500mg)

What you need:
1 cup of fennel seeds
Size 00 empty capsules (500 mg)
a blender (Akira -a local low cost blender)

Note: contrary to popular opinion you do not need a Vitamix or Blendtec to DIY. Akira is cheap! and just as trustworthy, we have been using it for 2 years, every single day…!

Akira blender attachment (for dry ingredients)

Steps

1. Blend the fennel seeds (must be really really dry) until it is powderized.

This is how it looks when it is powderized/blenderized

1 tsp of powdered fennel seed will fit 1 size 00 empty capsule (500 mg)

2. Now you are ready to put it in your empty capsules

3. Store in air-tight jars.

This photo shows a recycled jar. I also cut the label of the origial plastic packaging of the fennel seeds I bought and place it inside the jar, so I can easily spot it.

DIY fennel seed capsules and DIY turmeric capsules in recycled jars

You may wonder why, I am encapsulating Fennel seeds.
Fennel seeds is part of the Hulda Clark Bowel Cleansing Program, that Nanay and I will be embarking on.

Why not buy ready made fennel seed capsules?
1. I am trying to keep my cost down (dollars and cents count)
2. freshness of the herb (Dr. Hulda Clark says, freshly grounded herbs is always the best way to go)

Is it time consuming?

Well, yes and no. Yes, because it took mee 2 hours to encapsulate. No, because I was watching Pinoy telenovelas while doing it.

yes, I can multi-task (I have eyes on the side of my head) πŸ™‚

Nanay Miriam Fennel Seed capsules (500 mg) 100 capsules

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Alex permalink
    October 26, 2012 7:08 pm

    Hi Nanay Miriam,
    Where to buy the size 00 empty capsules…
    Size 00 is quit difficult to find.

  2. October 29, 2012 12:31 pm

    Eden Health Foods — call them first to check if there is stock (shop closed on Sundays)

    http://www.eden.com.sg/

Trackbacks

  1. Flat Tummy in One Week? « Nanay Miriam's "re-MISSION"
  2. Family Package: Humaworm Parasite Cleansing Updates « Nanay Miriam's "re-MISSION"

Leave a Reply

