Skip to content

Transitioning to Natural Hair/ No Poo Method

May 19, 2012

3 years ago, this is how my hair looked (after tons of chemical and manual treatments on my hair (silicons, heat and curling irons). Zarah’s hair is natural though, she do not need anything to achieve this look (just wash and dry and she is ready to go)

2 years ago, I shunned chemical treatments and decided to go au naturel.. but my hair is so frizzy.. so kept it in a ponytail like this or in a tight bun.. makes me look so auntie I know..

This year, decided to chop my hair to grow out my relaxed/straightened hair.. while I transitioning to an all natural hair…

This is how it looks on a good day…if I use the Kerastase Masque Oleo Relax (I still have to hide my roots as the demarcation between the straightened hair and my natural hair is really quite obvious.

This is how bad it looks on a bad day…see the demarcation between the straightened and natural hair?

My peg is Zarah’s hair.. it makes me appreciate what God has really given me.. a full head of wavy hair. From now on, I will commit to take care of my hair, just the way God intended it to be.. wavy/curly and thick.. am sure my hair will appreciate me too.. just the way it appreciates Zarah… will be counting 2 years from now..
http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=nanaymiriam-20&o=1&p=8&l=as1&asins=076115678X&ref=tf_til&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifrOur hair is thick and wavy (not Afro curly).. just wavy (as in big waves). Nanay’s hair is really curly (very tight almost afro like), Zarah’s hair is the ideal type of big loose and soft curls. My hair cant seem to make up its mind.. there are parts that are straight, some that are wavy and some curly.

Nanay and I usually go for straightening treatments as its really very unruly and unmanageable if we dont. When we started detoxing ourselves, I have to give up my straightening treatments and have to always rely on my hair buns. I keep my hair always bunned tightly– wwhich makes me look so auntie. If I let it down, then I look like a rag doll or a mop. Nanay just chopped her long hair and maintains a very short hair style. She cant give up dying her hair with Bigen hair dye to cover her white hairs.. which makes me really mad at times. I purchased Henna from Eden Health store last week, but she said Bigen is more convenient to use. Anyway, I am going to show her how to do this on my own, and perhaps once I learn how to dye my hair using henna… I will help her dye her hair.

I purchased Kerastase Masque Oleo relax, sometime back as a desperate effort as my hair looked like a witch’s broom. Used it once and then put it at the back of the cupboard…as I look into the ingredients it contains some of the dirty dozens:

http://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp/ItemId=22810/Masque%20Oleo-Relax/Kerastase/Treatments

Aqua (Water), Behentrimonium Chloride, Cetearyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Amodimethicone, Potato Starch Modified, Cetyl Esters, Isopropyl Alcohol, Elaeis Guineensis / Elaeis Guineensis Oil, Shorea Robusta / Shorea Robusta Seed Butter, Methylparaben, Trideceth 12, Citric Acid, Chlorhexidine Dihydrochloride, Cetrimonium Chloride, Cl 47005 (Yellow 10), CI 14700 (Red 4), Parfum/Fragrance

As much as I really like how this products work on my hair… I am not going to buy this ever again… as I found a DIY routine that works just as well, cheaper and no toxins at all! I will just finish the remaining half of my Kerastase Oleo relax pot.. and am done with it.. Will keep the container though.. for my DIY flaxseed hair gel.

After reading a lot of the posts from Vivawoman.net and all the youtube videos about No Poo (meaning No shampoo method) and transitioning to Natural hair (black women transitioning from relax/straigthened hair to natural curly hair), I became so fascinated with all things DIY.

This time, I feel like am not a cave woman shunning civilization so as not to put toxins, gunks and goops in my hair and body. I have been using Dr. bronner’s liquid soap to shampoo my hair, because I thought that is the only “safe” way to wash my hair.

There are other ways, to wash my hair without the toxins, and also ensure it looks healthy soft and shiny.

Baking soda, Apple Cider Vinegar (ACV) and Olive Oil/Sunflower Oil

Two weeks ago, I followed the tutorial in this youtube video..as my scalp is sooo itchy and my hair is soo frizzy:

Result

1. Olive Oil/Sunflower Oil

The tutorial recommends Olive Oil. Nanay usually keeps a container of Olive Oil in the bathroom, apparently we ran out of Olive Oil, so Nanay poured Sunflower Oil into it. Which is a plus for me… Olive Oil and Coconut Oil makes my hair so limp.. Sunflower Oil is just nice… it left my hair soft and silky to the touch.

2. After the baking soda wash and ACV rinse, the itchiness in my scalp, is gone! as in totally gone! I feel so clean and light. No commercial shampoo has given me this type of result.

Baking Soda, ACV and Kerastase Masque Oleo relax

Kerastase products are quite expensive, so even if I want to toss away all the toxins, I thought I should just use the remaining contents (I think its good for another 5 uses).

Tonight, I did the baking soda wash and ACV rinse first, and then applied the Kerastase Masque Oleo relax.. and then used a plastic bag, to secure my hair.. am going to sleep on this and rinse tomorrow.

Am excited to attend the Workshop organized by Green Living, tomorrow entitled “How to Detox your home”.  Its not so much on learning “how to do it”, but more so for the inspiration to keep detoxifying our home and body, and also for building a support group.

Other Youtube videos I love with tutorials that I want to try in the near future:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=endscreen&NR=1&v=z9auWuH-mfs

How to keep hair moisturized the whole day

Home Made Hair and Body Oil
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9R_UMOBOZG0&list=UU9Zl_UOLc2F5Aq45G6DxEaQ&index=6&feature=plcp

10 tips on growing healthy natural hair
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l7ouKM2v6Uc&list=UU9Zl_UOLc2F5Aq45G6DxEaQ&index=8&feature=plcp

Blog articles I love to read again and again

Moisturising Dry hair:

http://www.naptural85.com/blog-content/2012/1/23/tips-for-moisturizing-dry-hair-natural-hair-care.html

Protective Styling
http://www.naptural85.com/blog-content/tag/what-is-protective-styling

Vivawoman’s DIY Homemade articles (all of them): not entirely related to hair.. but I love Sesame’s way of relating to her readers…that I keep coming back..

http://www.vivawoman.net/organic/homemade/

Got Curl?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2012 12:45 pm

    hi nanay mirriam, thank you po for following our blog. this blog really fits me, i will try your home remedies because i have fizzy hair and so far, those that we can see in the groceries does not seem to work at all. salamat po 🙂

  2. May 27, 2012 8:28 pm

    hi L& M, I am actually writing this blog on behalf of my mother (nanay miriam), my name is Lanie. hope you enjoy the home remedies just as much as I do enjoy it. My nanay also tried it today, and there is a significant difference on the texture of her hair. It does not look like tiny springs anymore, it is softer now, and also a bit shinier (in short it looks healthier.. )… however, i find that it seems Kerastase was a mistake..as it contains silicones and the only way to remove silicones is to use a sulfate based shampoo.. so I bought my last small bottle of sulfate based shampoo to get rid of the silicone. Kerastase made my hair more frizzy, bone straight (just like my last photo).. after washing with a sulfate based shampoo.. I used a conditioner.. and rinsed with diluted ACV again.. on the 3rd day, I applied a light oil (sunflower oil) on the ends of my hair, then dry washed my hair with baking soda… rinsed with water, and then with diluted ACV.. my hair feels so light and clean!! I really can rave about this!!! and the ends of my hair a lot softer.. I will write an update soon with some photos.. just very busy these days..

    please also find out what your hair type is (type 1, 2a, 2b, 2c, 3 or 4), and whether it is coarse or fine.. protein loving or not.. as your hair may have different needs..

    my hair is coarse and apparently has too much protein.. which is why the pre-oiling, baking soda/diluted ACV combo works for me, but mayonnaise hair masks, egg yolk masks, may not work for me as those are considered protein treatments…so even if it a natural home remedy, these remedies may work for some but not for others..

    I truly believe though, that we can really remove all the chemicals on our hair, its just a matter of finding our hair type and finding out which natural treatment works for us..

    so if you are currently trying a natural remedy, and its not working for you… dont give up, just keep trying until you find the right natural remedy for you…

    anyway, I love your blog, as I am trying to be a vegetarian myself or at least 80% vegetarian ( i disliked veggies as a child and as a teenager, but I realised in my late 20’s how badly I need vegetables– so am finding inspiration from bloggers like yourself.. specially pinoy vegetarians–..) more power to you and your husband and your lakbay gulay..

    regards,
    Lanie

Trackbacks

  1. Updates : Natural Hair/ No Poo Method (after 1.5 years of trying) | Nanay Miriam's "re-MISSION"

Leave a Reply

