Skip to content

DIY Carpet/Upholstery Stain Remover and Anti-Mold/Mite Mixture

July 20, 2012

My good as new sofa after a good rub down with baking soda and oxygen bleach

I made my own eco-friendly stain remover made of Oxygen Bleach and warm distilled water.

To make a 2 liters of stain remover

Ingredients:
2 oz. of Oxygen bleach powder
2 quarts (about 2 liters) of warm water
Shake mixture until the powder is dissolved

Steps
1. Saturate the stain with the mixture
2. Leave for about 10-15 minutes (it should still be wet)
3. vigorously scrub with an old towel

For using the same mixture as a “shampoo” for your sofa (specially those that are made of fabric and cannot be removed and washed in a washing machine)..

Step 1:
Sprinkle baking soda (anti-dust mites, anti-mold), let sit for 30 to 45 minutes

Step 2:
Spray with your mixture and then rub vigorously with an old towel. Spray more on corners and crevices (mites and molds love to live there)…rub with an old tooth brush if you think necessary

Step 3:
Air dry or dry in the sun

Step 4:
Vacuum and put sofa back into place

You can do the same with your carpet. I used 2 liters for our 3 seater sofa bed and 2 single seaters. I used another 2 liters for the carpet. Though I used a stiff brush for the carpet, instead of an old towel.

My neighbor was amazed with my work and asked me what “carpet shampoo” I used, I shared the recipe with her. She asked, what is the difference between normal bleach and oxygen bleach?. I said, ” oxygen bleach” is eco friendly, it does not release toxic fumes. Of course the next question was, “where to buy”?. I bought a jar of oxygen bleach at NTUC Finest Bukit Timah Plaza. She also offered her 9 year old twins to help me out. Which I politely refused, I’d rather that they just play with my 6 year old daughter than “clean” my sofa.. Maybe in another 5 years, I will let them clean my sofa.

That afternoon, the trio rounded up the whole neighborhood to sign a pledge to save electric power. The next morning, they walked Russell and played at the park. My sofa still looks spic and span today, as the girls are more interested in russell than the sofa (for obvious reasons)..

in 5 years time, they will help me clean/shampoo my sofa (I hope!! 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. ZAIDA M. PADULLO permalink
    August 17, 2012 9:55 am

    i appreciate very much your blogs. Very informative, easy to follow DIY tips, and a blow by blow account of your mom’s journey with healing cancer the natural way. I have an aunt who is undergoing chemo for breast cancer and tho in her 3rd chemo, i think it is not to late to try some of your tips… Thanks and may you continue to be a blessing to others…

    • August 22, 2012 7:38 pm

      thanks Zaida 🙂 hope someone buy the books on my Amazon page to help in the upkeep of this site.. who knows I might be able to write a book someday

  2. ZAIDA M. PADULLO permalink
    August 17, 2012 9:59 am

    Where can i buy the Breuss Protocol Diet book?

Trackbacks

  1. Liver Cleanse after Bowel and Parasite Cleanse « Nanay Miriam's "re-MISSION"
  2. Air Purifier for less than 20 sgd « Nanay Miriam's "re-MISSION"

Leave a Reply

