Skip to content

City Treasures: Hong Lim Park and SunMoon Fruit Retailer

September 14, 2012

This is where I eat my lunch and where I read my favorite books (to escape the cold airconditioned office for about 30-45 minutes)… to “defrost” and “re-ground” myself.

Hong Lim Park. This small park between Chinatown and the CBD was established in 1885 by a Chinese businessman for whom it has since been named. Like Singapore’s other urban green spaces, its tropical trees and foliage are immaculately groomed and there’s a fountain and park benches for relaxing in the shade. Hong Lim Park is best known as the home of Speakers’ Corner, the one place in Singapore where people can “freely” arrange demonstrations or protests. Keep your eyes open for an ironic sign listing the numerous conditions of free speech. -Tanya Procyshyn

Anyway, I did not intend to exercise my freedom of speech at Hong Lim Park. I really just wanted to eat my bananas in peace while reading a book borrowed from the Library, called 80 10 10 by Dr. Doug Graham. When I eat mostly fruits in the office, I get curious glances and questions.

However, in a natural environment, even a man made park like this one, it seems natural to just peel a banana and eat it with gusto. (I actually ate 6 bananas in that span of 30 to 45 minutes).

What even looks so natural to me is the way our hands are designed to perfectly fit an apple, an orange or a banana (almost any fruit that you can pick from a tree for that matter)..even the way our thumbs curl up to the fruit, so that we can easily pluck a fruit from a branch.. and the way we can cup on to it and bring it on to our mouths.

Ecclesiastes 11:5 As you do not know the path of the wind, or how the body is formed in a mother’s womb, so you cannot understand the work of God, the Maker of all things.

Psalms 139:14 praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well

Whereas, dogs paws make it entirely difficult to reach for a tree and so much for picking a fruit. You know why? they are not designed to eat fruits… they are designed to be carnivores.

Humans are designed to be frugivores!! Hi yah! I know this will be in conflict with some of my previous posts that we should be eating grains the way it was written in the Bible (as in the baking of the Ezekiel bread). However, grains, bread only became part of the human diet when Adam and Eve were asked to leave the Garden of Eden..

What does the Bible teach about the origin of vegetation? On day three of Creation, the omnipotent God Who created everything with “the breath of His mouth” (Psalm 33:6), said: “Let the earth bring forth grass, the herb that yields seed, and the fruit tree that yields fruit according to its kind, whose seed is in itself, on the earth” (Genesis 1:11). The Bible then reveals, “and it was so. And the earth brought forth grass, the herb that yields seed according to its kind, and the tree that yields fruit, whose seed is in itself according to its kind. And God saw that it was good. So the evening and the morning were the third day” (Genesis 1:11-13).

In the Garden of Eden, we were asked to eat all the fruits and as much all fruits that we can eat (except for a particular fruit–and that one is another subject all together)…

Genesis 1:29
God said, “See, I give you every seed-bearing plant that is upon all the earth, and every tree that has seed-bearing fruit; they shall be yours for food.

so lets stick with the topic.. we are designed to eat fruits and tender leafy greens only. And yeah it will take a while for my cravings for the wrong food will go away..but I have reason to believe this.

I used to love fruits as a child.. I remember eating bananas early in the morning, while Nanay keeps screaming “malalamigan ka”(you will get too much cold– in TCM.. I think you say “too much yin)..in the afternoon I would mangoes and never feel hungry. My grandfather would feed me young coconut meat and coco water.. freshly picked from his coconut trees,, whenever we visit him in Bicol.

THose were the happiest and healthiest memories of my life. And then I had my mercury fillings, and I started eating rubbish food.. thats when my health turned for the worse. TOnsilitis every month and steady dose of antibiotics (even injected to my young body), to get rid of the bacteria.

Anyway, am trying to reverse all that bad habits now together with Nanay.

By the way SunMoon is a spunky shop right in the middle of Change Alley near Raffles MRT. Yesterday, I purchased bananas (about 20), 2 solo papayas, for only $12.90 sgd… that fed me for 2 days here in the office.. who says eating healthy must be difficult and expensive?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

