Skip to content

Updates : Natural Hair/ No Poo Method (after 1.5 years of trying)

October 30, 2013

They say that the best indication of your health is your hair, skin, nails and eyes (even breath and odor).
So, this is not entirely all just about vanity. In the first place, the reason why I tried to transition to natural hair/no poo method is to reduce my toxic burden, but since I have a day job that requires meeting face to face with people, I still have to look professional.

Last year (May 2012), this is how my hair looked like…BEFORE NO POO METHOD

damaged hair

So- I decided to transition to Natural Hair/No Poo Method (meaning I will not have my hair rebonded/relaxed/straightened and will not use commercial shampoo to cleanse my hair).

prior to the relax/rebonding session this is my No Poo routine (is not exactly zero shampoo) , it goes like this…

Day 1: Cleanse with baking soda (1 tbsp baking soda to about 2 liters of water – applied to the scalp

then rinse with water, then rinse with ACV water (1tbsp in 2 liters of water)– still paying attention to the scalp

COndition with Sunflower Oil
Rinse again with ACV water

Day 2: just wash with water

Day 3: just wash with water (with lots of scalp massage)

Day 4: just wash with water

Day 5: hot oil treatment using castor oil (pure) or castor oil with coconut oil then wash with any shampoo that my daughter is using (usually Organix brand)

Day 6 & 7: just wash with water

This is how it looked like in Sep 2012 – still natural hair– but No POO METHOD

Sep 2012, No Poo, soft but dull looking, hard to manage

Sep 2012, No Poo, soft but dull looking, hard to manage

 

  • my hair is natural up to June 2013 but due to pressure from my brother and my SIL- I had it relaxed/rebonded (a small compromise I believe, as I really have too frizzy, too coarse and too thick hair)…

 

after rebonding, this is my hair care routine

Day 1: Cleanse with baking soda (1 tbsp baking soda to about 2 liters of water – applied to the scalp

then rinse with water, then rinse with ACV water (1tbsp in 2 liters of water)– still paying attention to the scalp

Cream Silk Anti -Dandruff COnditioner
Rinse again with ACV water

Day 2: just wash with water

Day 3: Cream Silk Anti Dandruff COnditioner

Day 4: just wash with water

Day 5: hot oil treatment using castor oil (pure) or castor oil with coconut oil then wash with any shampoo that my daughter is using (usually Organix brand) followed by Cream Silk Anti-Dandruff COnditioner

Day 6 & 7: just wash with water

This is how my hair looks now (after 1 year of Less Poo method– but relaxed (not completely natural– I have to compromise a bit), but unlike before instead of using commercial shampoo and conditioner almost every day to take care of my relaxed hair… I try to use less shampoo (once a week only- which is usually after my weekly hot oil treatment)..

 

12 weeks after rebonding, I now use a lot of oils to condition it in between cleansing days. See Farah Dhukai’s hair routine— however instead of almond oil.. am currently using a mixture of avocado oil, coconut oil and olive oil.

Length with no ligthing

Length

Front view with lighting

Front view with lighting

Top view with lighting

Top view with lighting

Fringe with lighting – focus on grey roots

Fringe- with grey roots

In addition to Farah Dhukai’s hair routine, I will be adding sage and yarrow to the rosemary rinse to focus on covering my grey, adding shine and also to reverse the grey. I think my hair is healthy enough now to take extra stress in terms of coloring.. anyway Henna is natural/plant based and also very nourishing. I also need flax seed gel to control the frizz on my roots and will also have to get a nice professional haircut.. to “improve my Personal Branding” (something I have learned from the all women networking event I attended yesterday).

I also learned that premature grey can be caused by lack of Copper and Zinc, so I have to find out how I can increase my intake of copper and zinc through my food. Since the nutritional solution is a long term solution, I would just depend on the henna now to address the external issues. So Looking forward to Friday, so I can color my hair and nanay’s hair already (just in time for our birthday celebration on 22 Nov– yeah Nanay and I have the same birthday– although I was born 25 years later).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

