Skip to content

Discoid Meniscus — and a Tear in the meniscus

August 19, 2014

So, the orthopaedic surgeon’s initial diagnosis was right. According to the MRI, I indeed have a meniscus tear. But its very small– which normal would heal on its own and would not require surgery.

However, I have an knee abnormality called Discoid Meniscus, which usually does not present a problem until an injury happens. People who have Discoid Meniscus like me, who experience a tear/injury usually does not heal as fast as someone who have normal meniscus.

discoid meniscus

But the Dr said he would try a conservative approach, so he gave me a cortisone injection and 6 weeks of herbal supplementation (boswellia, turmeric and ginger). He also suggested rest, ice pack and elevation of the leg as frequently as possible. If the tear wont heal in 6 weeks, he said he will have to offer surgery.

So here is my plan

1. continue with my pain management approach – prayers, castor oil packs, ice pack (if its untolerable and I need to walk/work)…ginger compress and olive oil/frankincense oil massage, soaking leg in Epsom salt, breathing exercises

2. for healing to take place– I would follow Barefoot Herbalist advice.. rub cayenne pepper on affected area and put BF&C on it (I still have the liquid formula and would soon be ordering the salve (external) and the powder/capsule formula (internal)

3. will also take the herbal supplements that the Orthopedic Surgeon gave to me (at least this one is insurance claimable)..

SO my mother asked, how did I get it? I said I don’t know.. here is what Mr. Google have to say..

Discoid Meniscus

Every knee has a medial and lateral meniscus which are C-shaped pieces of fibrocartilage that absorb stress and act as cushions between the bones at the knee. At birth, the meniscus is not C-shaped, but discoid (round like a discus).

With growth and walking, the discoid meniscus evolves into its normal C-shape. In some children, the lateral meniscus continues to stay discoid with growth. The incidence is approximately 3-5% of the population

 

So I am part of that 3-5% of the population who have a discoid meniscus.. it seems that I have a lot of muscoskeletal issues, 1. scoliosis of the thoracic spine 2. overpronation of the feet 3. discoid meniscus..all of which are non-life treathening but sure affects my quality of life.

pronation-red-flags

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

